CURRICULUM VITAE¹

Name: Helge Holden

Born: September 28, 1956 in Oslo. Norwegian nationality.

Position: Professor of mathematics

Address: Department of Mathematical Sciences

NTNU Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Alfred Getz' vei 1 NO–7491 Trondheim

Norway

Email: helge.holden@ntnu.no

URL: https://www.ntnu.edu/employees/holden, www.helgeholden.no

Researcher ID: ORCID 0000-0002-8564-0343

Education: Dr. Philos., University of Oslo, 1985,

Cand. real., University of Oslo, 1976–81 (major: mathematics).

Positions: Professor, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, 1991– present,

Associate Professor, University of Trondheim, 1986-1990,

Research Assistant, University of Oslo, 1982-86.

Honors: The Gunnerus Medal, Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters, 2022,

Doctor honoris causa, Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology, Hanoi, 2017,

The Faculty's award for 2005 for popularization of science,

Fulbright Scholarship 1985-86,

Lucy B. Moses "Thanks to Scandinavia" Scholarship 1985-86,

The King of Norway has been informed in the Council of State about the cand. real. exam 1981.

Longer stays abroad:

visiting professor, University of Missouri–Columbia, 8/96–7/97, Visiting member, California Institute of Technology, 1/89–7/89,

Visiting Member, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, 8/85-7/86.

External engagements:

Adjunct professor, Centre of Mathematics for Applications, University of Oslo, 2002–15, Visiting professor, Simula Research Laboratory, Oslo (www.simula.no), 2001–05.

Memberships: Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (Elected),

Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters (Elected), Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences (Elected),

Academia Europaea (Elected),

European Academy of Sciences (Elected),

TWAS — The World Academy of Sciences (Elected), Fellow, American Mathematical Society (AMS),

Fellow, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), Heidelberg Laureate Forum Founders Club (lifetime member),

Norwegian Mathematical Society (lifetime member), European Mathematical Society (EMS) (lifetime member),

International Association of Mathematical Physics (IAMP) (lifetime member).

Offices (current): Chair of the Abel Prize Committee, 2023–2026,

Chair, the Onsager Committee, NTNU, circa 2000-present,

Board member of *Store norske leksikon* (The Norwegian Encyclopedia), 2022–present, Board member of the Scientific Committee of the Heidelberg Laureate Forum, 2013–present, Member of the Scientific Advisory Board at FiRST, University of Helsinki, 2023–present, Member of the International Advisory Board at University of Gothenburg, 1/2024–12/2026,

Member of Board of Directors of the Lie-Størmer Center, 2022-present,

Chair, Stiftungsrat of the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation, 2016-present.

¹Updated January 4, 2024

Offices (past): Member of the Board of NTNU, 2009–17,

President of the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters, 2014–16, Secretary General, The International Mathematical Union, 2015–18, 2019–22, Chair, The European Research Council Consolidator Grant panel, 2013, 2015, 2017,

Chair, Scientific Advisory Board, the Erwin Schrödinger Institute, Vienna, Austria, 2016–19, Member, Scientific Advisory Board, the Erwin Schrödinger Institute, Vienna, Austria, 2012–16,

Chair, The Niels Henrik Abel Board, 2010-14,

President, European Consortium for Mathematics in Industry, 2004-06,

Vice-president, European Mathematical Society, 2007–10, Secretary, European Mathematical Society, 2003–06,

Board member of Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, 2020–22,

Board member of the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences, 2003–12, Member of the VISTA Board of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, 2011–15,

Chair, Honorary Doctor Committee, NTNU, 2017–19,

Chair, National committee for promotion to full professor in mathematics, c. 2004–11, Chair, the Research Council of Norway committees: SUNT (2000–06), BeMatA (2000–06),

Chair, the Research Council of Norway committee: eVITA (2009–15), Member of board, Norwegian Mathematical Society, 1999–04,

Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences 7/1990–12/1992, Member of the Membership Advisory Committee of TWAS, 2022–23,

Member of Scientific Committee for the sixth European Congress of Mathematics (6ECM), 2012,

Member of Board of Natural Sciences, DKNVS, 2001-13,

Member of Board of DKNVS, 2012–16, Member of ERC Advanced Grant panel, 2011.

Editor: Acta Mathematica (member of editorial board),

Transactions of the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters (member of editorial board),

Springer Undergraduate Text Mathematical Technology (member of editorial board),

Nonlinear Analysis: Real World Applications (member of editorial board), Advances in Computational Mathematics (member of editorial board), Research in the Mathematical Sciences (member of editorial board),

Open Communications in Nonlinear Mathematical Physics (member of editorial board),

Vietnam Journal of Mathematics (member of editorial board).

Students: Supervised 24 PhD students (3 current), supervised more than 90 master students.

Publications: Co-written 7 books, co-edited 16 books, published more than 125 papers in international journals.

Grants: Principal Investigator of Waves and Nonlinear Phenomena (WaNP) "Toppforsk" grant 2016–2022,

Principal Investigator and participant in several major grants, 1990–2015.

Talks: More than 240 international and national lectures and media events since 1990,

Distinguished Lecture of the Swedish Mathematical Society 2023,

Invited speaker, Fourth European Congress of Mathematics, Stockholm 2004,

Invited speaker, HYKE-2 Conference, Paris, 2004, Keynote lecture, ECMOR IV conference 1994.

Miscellaneous: Co-organized semester programs at the Mittag-Leffler Institute, Sweden (Fall 2005, 2016, 2023),

Co-organizer of special program at the Centre for Advanced Study, Oslo, 2008-09,

Co-organizer of Abel Symposia 2010, 2023.

Evaluations: University of Copenhagen, Denmark, 2018 and 2023 (chair),

Lund University, Sweden, 2020,

Uppsala University, Sweden, 2007 (chair), 2017 (chair), 2024,

Technical University of Denmark, 2008,

Royal Institute Technology, Stockholm, Sweden, 2012,

University of Gothenburg, Sweden, 2010,

Swedish National Agency for Higher Education, Sep. 2001,

Aalborg University, Denmark, 2000.